Tuesday, October 15, 2019

BODY STUFF - Body Stuff 3

BODY STUFF: new EP “Body Stuff 3” to be released by The Chain; details and artwork revealed

Body Stuff 3, the third EP by Body Stuff, will be released on January 10, 2020.



Based in New York City, Body Stuff is the duo of Curran Reynolds and Ryan Jones. Reynolds, the songwriter and vocalist, began the project in the early part of this decade, when both he and Jones were members of Today Is The Day.

Body Stuff 3 is the third in a trilogy of EPs: the self-titled Body Stuff (2013), Body Stuff 2 (2016), and Body Stuff 3 (2020).

Body Stuff 3 will be released by The Chain, the multi-faceted company founded in 2016 by Reynolds, Three One G Records owner Justin Pearson, and graphic designer Brandon Gallagher.

Reviews of the first two EPs singled out a few aspects of the Body Stuff sound. On the surface, there were crooning vocals, simple hooks, and an earnest spirit, nodding to the rousing rock songs that filled late-‘80s FM radio dials – U2, Billy Idol, et al. Underneath, something heavier: programmed drums and thick guitars conjured industrial-metal power in the vein of Godflesh or Killing Joke. And deeper in the mix was a dreamlike ambience that evoked the places the music was conceived – namely, the streets of New York City (the debut EP) and a lake in rural Maine (Body Stuff 2).

Of the lyrics, a review on Stereogum stated, “Reynolds’ lyrics are a focal point and tell snippets of stories in a hundred words or less that are as haunting as they are evocative.” Reflecting on memories of violence, death, poverty, and heartbreak, Reynolds sought to make sense of the past, while finding his place in the present. His lyrics depicted a protagonist who identified as an outsider to society, yet pointed toward a sense of oneness in all things.

Scheduled to be one of the very first releases of the new decade, Body Stuff 3 promises to expand on the musical and lyrical themes set forth on the first two EPs. Opening with these lines – “I can never go home, or so I’ve been told / Well, I am the world, the glance of every guy and girl” – Body Stuff 3 sees Reynolds continue to navigate the lines between individual and collective, isolation and connection.
Featuring the most highly developed music the duo has created so far, the EP consists of five, intense, radiant anthems that take the Body Stuff style to the next level. 

Some new elements in the mix include: the prominent use of synth on multiple songs; a guitar solo by KMFDM guitarist Andee Blacksugar; acoustic guitar; and Jones' death metal vocals (which fans of his other band Mutilation Rites will recognize).

Body Stuff 3 was recorded and mixed by Jones and Reynolds at Jones’ studio, Growlhouse, in Queens, NY. The EP was mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege (Torche, Full of Hell).

The artwork was created by Reynolds and The Chain's Brandon Gallagher.

1) Spies
2) On the Run
3) Inches
4) New York in the Rain
5) Words

Curran Reynolds - vocals
Ryan Jones - guitar, bass, programming, backing vocals on "New York in the Rain"

Guest musicians:
Andee Blacksugar (KMFDM) - guitar solo on “Inches”
Al Huckabee and Polly Watson (1-800-BAND) - backing vocals on “On the Run”

Body Stuff EP (2013, The Path Less Traveled Records)
Body Stuff 2 EP (2016, The Path Less Traveled Records)
Body Stuff 3 EP (2020, The Chain)

Body Stuff has played live with Godflesh, Uniform, Psalm Zero, Tombs, Collapsing Scenery, TV Baby, Statiqbloom, Murderpact, and more.

Upcoming shows:
Dec 6 - Queens, NY @ H0L0 (w/ Aeviterne)
Dec 27 - Brooklyn, NY @ Gold Sounds (w/ Plaque Marks)


Photo by Justina Villanueva

No comments:

Post a Comment