Thursday, April 27, 2017


“Brent Asbury has really good taste. Listening to Panicker—the musician/producer/sound engineer's new solo project—is an almost immersive experience, shuttling from the danceable industrial of vintage Wax Trax! Records to the brooding soundtracks of '80s sci-fi to techno.”
–No Echo

Stream the latest single, Heave, via No Echo, here.

This track is a single off of PANICKER’s debut self-titled LP, which will be available digitally and on random variant vinyl via Three One G Records on April 26th. Preorder here.

PANICKER’s debut seeks to give a voice (sans vocalist) to the anxious emotional state occupied by musician/producer/sound engineer Brent Asbury-- as well as, it seems, society as a whole. The feeling is frightening, all-consuming and urgent, and he captures this well. Tracks such as “Habits” tap into the horror vibe heavily, building tension and yet shifting into upbeat slides and bright accents with fluidity. “Airport” strikes like an alarm signalling for emergency evacuation, yet works in a techno-dance beat that seems welcoming of a jam-packed, sweat-stained party. Pieces like “Morning” use synth lines that could be old friends of a Wendy Carlos composition. Still, where genres may be remiss, the title seems to serve well.

Panicker LP:
  1. Commuter
  2. Parties
  3. Heave
  4. Habits
  5. Systems
  6. Airport
  7. Untitled
  8. Ataxia
  9. Perfume
  10. Time

No comments:

Post a Comment