Friday, October 27, 2017

VITRIOL + Decibel

"Vitriol very well may be the most vicious and explosive death metal band currently hailing from the United States."

"Some of the most pulverizing death metal you can find these days."

–Metal Injection

"Perhaps the most promising and immediately impactful statement by a death metal band this year."

–Heavy Blog Is Heavy

"This band wields the power to split the genre wide open."

–Nine Circles

Decibel has premiered the title track off Vitriol's new EP, Pain Will Define Their Death. 

Listen, here:

Due for release on November 10th, Pain Will Define Their Death sets forth Vitriol's sound in no uncertain terms. Through the EP's three tracks, the Portland, Oregon band lashes out with a style rooted in the turn-of-the-millennium works of Morbid Angel, Hate Eternal, and Nile – death metal landmarks like Gateways to Annihilation, King of All Kings, and Black Seeds of Vengeance. Vitriol's three members – guitarist/vocalist Kyle Rasmussen, bassist/vocalist Adam Roethlisberger, and drummer Scott Walker – attack the hallowed genre with a fresh aggression that cannot be faked. Dense, visceral, overwhelming, Vitriol's tornado of sound is familiar but new.

On top of this base, Vitriol adds inspiration from avant-black visionaries like Xasthur and Deathspell Omega. Faint blackened layers open emotional dimensions beyond the scope of brutish death metal. In the words of guitarist/vocalist Rasmussen: "Black metal provides a spiritual and emotional violence, whereas death metal provides the physical violence. I wanted to be able to impart all of these experiences with our music. A full existential attack."

Vitriol's lyrics all serve to advance the band's mission statement, as summed up by Rasmussen: "To expose the weakness, failure, and triviality of man, through passionate violence.”

Pain Will Define Their Death was recorded by the band and Derek Leisy at Audiosiege (Obituary, Full of Hell), and mixed by Taylor Young (Nails, Xibalba). It was mastered by Stephan Hawkes (Red Fang)

Photo by Charlotte Gane

No comments:

Post a Comment