Wednesday, December 12, 2018

ANEURYSM - Awareness

Aneurysm announces the February 1st, 2019 release of debut album Awareness.

Stream first single, "St. E's," here:

After three seven-inches and roughly 200 shows, the Boston 5-piece has finally immortalized its sound and spirit in full-length fashion. 
Recorded at GodCity Studio in Salem, MA, by Chris Johnson (bassist of Deafheaven and Doomriders), Awareness is ten tracks' worth of swaggering, melodic, noise-rock that charges forward through the same sewers as Nirvana, Unsane, and Turbonegro. 

Burly drums and distorted bass pound out frantic punk rock rhythms, as dual guitars weave ragged blankets of noisy melody. Vocalist Michael McGee (who spent much of the '00s fronting noise-core blasters the_Network) snarls, screams and croons, with lyrics that are raw and poetic – world-weary reflections on sex, drugs, cops, death, and rock n' roll.

A 2015 review in SPIN accurately declared Aneurysm's sound to be "a solid approximation of the Jesus Lizard’s seediness, but with a muscular locomotion that’d make the Toronto scuzz-punks in Metz proud... But what separates them from their heavy forebears and cleaned-up contemporaries is the delicate balance they strike between melody and chaos." Aneurysm have perfected that balance on Awareness, an album that rages wildly with a sneer on its face, yet also melts the heart.

Awareness was mastered by Will Killingsworth (The Body, Magrudergrind). The artwork and layout were created by Mark McCoy, whose work has graced the covers of albums by Pig Destroyer and Full of Hell.

The album's release is a joint effort between Tor Johnson Records (vinyl), Constant Disappointment Records (vinyl and CD), and Suspended Soul Records (cassette).

Pre-order exclusive "crown yellow" color vinyl:

Pre-order exclusive "creamsicle" color vinyl and CD:

Aneurysm, on tour:
Feb 1 - Florence, MA @ 13th Floor Lounge
Feb 4 - Asheville, NC @ Static Age
Feb 5 - Nashville, TN @ Drkmttr
Feb 8 - Austin, TX @ Beerland
Feb 10 - Arlington, TX @ Division Brewery
Feb 11 - Memphis, TN @ Hi-Tone
Feb 12 - Atlanta, GA @ 529
Feb 13 - Raleigh, NC @ Slim's
Feb 16 - Waterbury, CT @ Brooklyn Cafe
Feb 17 - Providence, RI @ The Dusk

1) Sorry Dad
2) National Embarrassment
3) Shell Game
4) Stop This Ride
5) Jerk Officer
6) St. E's
7) Newport
8) Handbook for the Recently Diseased
9) Adrian's Girls
10) West Coast Video

Michael McGee - vocals
Dan Bahto - guitar
Randy Slavinski - guitar
Archie Doyle - bass
Mark Mustacci - drums

Awareness (2019, Tor Johnson Records)
Split 7" w/ Goya (2016, Opoponax Records)
Veronica 7" (2015, Tor Johnson Records)
Stop This Ride 7" (2015, self-released)

Photo by Tyler Hallet

No comments:

Post a Comment