Thursday, April 12, 2018

AEVITERNE - Sireless

"Out of the metallic trappings of bands like Flourishing, Castevet, and Artificial Brain comes a new project that immediately shows great promise. Aeviterne roars forth with almost Immolation-esque might... A scintillating and refreshing debut."
–Metal Injection

May 4th marks the release of Sireless, the debut recording by New York City band Aeviterne. 

Aeviterne is the trio of Garett Bussanick (ex-Flourishing, ex-Tombs), Eric Rizk (ex-Flourishing), and Ian Jacyszyn (ex-Castevet), joined now by new member Sam Smith (Artificial Brain) who was brought on board after the recording was completed.

Comprising two songs – "Spring of Mirrors" and "Inborn" – Sireless will be released as a limited-edition 7" vinyl on P2 Records and as a digital download.

Stream "Spring of Mirrors," here:

Pre-order Sireless (vinyl) here:

Pre-order Sireless (digital) here:

Aeviterne picks up where Bussanick and Rizk's former band, Flourishing, left off. NPR Music's review of Flourishing's first album in 2011 read: "Songs can swing from industrial grind to abstract death metal in a moment's notice, but never lose sight of their pummeling yet melodic heft. There is a lot to unpack at any one moment, but Flourishing is on the cusp of collapsing and reshaping metal simultaneously." Decibel Magazine's review of that same album referenced Portal, Morbid Angel, and Godflesh in an attempt to describe its complex greatness.

Aeviterne makes new magic out of the elements Flourishing toyed with, drawing from the hellish, swirling end of the death metal spectrum as well as the icy atmospheres and rhythmic rigidity of industrial music. With Jacyszyn's powerful and precise drumming providing the foundation, Aeviterne is a stronger beast than its members' previous bands, expressing itself in a new, more focused, more right-angled way. 

Mournful, ominous, and driving forward unshakably, it is a sound that can be understood and loved in the context of both Immolation and Killing Joke – lead track "Spring of Mirrors" leans to the former side while "Inborn" gives a glimpse of the latter. Reminiscent of Obituary frontman John Tardy's vocals, Bussanick's outpourings express genuine horror as he howls lyrics exploring existential dread and the faults of human consciousness. 

Sireless was recorded and mixed by Ian Jacyszyn, and mastered by Colin Marston (Gorguts, Krallice). The artwork was created by Mark McCoy whose work has adorned the covers of albums by Full of Hell, Uniform, and more. A thrilling new collaboration from veterans of the New York scene, this concise debut sets the bar high and serves to introduce the world to a band that is poised to do great things.

1) Spring of Mirrors
2) Inborn


Garett Bussanick - guitar, vocals
Eric Rizk - bass
Ian Jacyszyn - drums, electronics
Sam Smith - guitar (new member, post-Sireless)

May 11 - Brooklyn, NY @ Gold Sounds w/ Gigan, Pyrrhon

July 10 - Washington, DC @ Atlas Brew Works w/ Artificial Brain, Voidspawn
July 11 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Brillobox w/ Artificial Brain, Voidspawn
July 12 - Philadelphia, PA @ Kung Fu Necktie w/ Artificial Brain, Voidspawn, Pyrrhon
July 13 - Boston, MA @ Middle East w/ Artificial Brain, Voidspawn
July 14 - Brooklyn, NY @ Trans Pecos w/ Artificial Brain, Voidspawn, Pyrrhon

Photo by Amy Mills

No comments:

Post a Comment