Wednesday, January 24, 2018


Dead Empires' new song "The Form" is a total crusher – a hulking, mid-tempo number, layered with noise and effects courtesy of new vocalist/noisemaker Jason Sherman. Premiering the song today, Invisible Oranges places Dead Empires in the same category as Code Orange and Full of Hell, and proclaims: "The band treat noise not as set dressing or background filigree, but as its own instrument... The song moves from a sound indebted to skronky Northeast hardcore to a climax that shares melodic DNA with an Ariana Grande hit." 

Check it out, here:

"The Form" appears on upcoming new album Designed to Disappear, out February 23rd on Silent Pendulum Records. The album was recorded and mixed by Scot Moriarty at Backroom Studios in Rockaway, New Jersey, and mastered by Alan Douches (Mastodon, Every Time I Die). 

Sherman, who also fronts of prog-death freaks Torrential Downpour, makes his Dead Empires debut on Designed to Disappear, adding a whole new layer of darkness and danger to the band's sound. Bassist DJ Scully is a member of The Number Twelve Looks Like You and Black Table.

Founded in the Hudson Valley of New York in 2009, Dead Empires began with 2010's Monuments EP and followed it up with Waiting in Waves (2012) and Secret Snakes/Silent Serpent (2015). Third full-length Designed to Disappear sees the band reinvented with the arrival of new frontman Sherman, and is a must for fans of Mastodon's rock majesty as well as The Dillinger Escape Plan's radical gear-shifting.

Photo by Joseph Pelosi

No comments:

Post a Comment