Monday, December 16, 2019


SOLO ANSAMBLIS: Lithuanian innovators mix anthemic techno and moody post-punk on Artoffact Records debut

Artoffact Records announces the February 21st release of Olos, the new album by Lithuanian band Solo Ansamblis.

From Vilnius, Lithuania, Solo Ansamblis describes its sound with the understated tag of "sad dance" – in fact, it is a unique and intense mix of styles, falling somewhere between stadium-sized EDM and moody post-punk. Using a combination of live instruments and electronic elements, the quartet conjures thumping energy and monotone melancholy, masterfully playing with the tension between these two extremes. Anthemic one minute, mournful the next, Solo Ansamblis' music references Kraftwerk, Joy Division, Underworld, The Knife, and much more.

"Of course, huge influences are embedded in us from childhood," the band members state collectively. "From The Beatles and Pink Floyd, to Lithuanian underground rap music of the '90s. Now we listen to all kinds of music, from synth pop to Indian ragga, from techno to ambient."

With all lyrics sung in its native language, Solo Ansamblis is an important new voice in an emerging Lithuanian scene which the band members describe as "vibrant and alive." The band exploded onto the Baltic scene in 2016 with its debut album, Roboxai, spawning several singles including "Moteris," the video for which is nearing one million views on YouTube. The upcoming Olos is the band's second album.

Solo Ansamblis shines in the live setting. With 3/4 of the lineup also working as actors in theater and film, it is no surprise their shows are spectacles of sight and sound. Hometown shows have become a go-to event, and the band is making waves across Europe’s festival circuit (Tallinn Music Week, Eurosonic, Reeperbahn, and more.)

Olos was recorded at the band's own studio in downtown Vilnius, then mixed by Andrius Kauklys of the band Happyendless. The cover artwork is an intricate pencil drawing by Lena Klyukina.

1) Intro
2) Fosforinis Baseinas
3) Baloje
4) Piligrimai II
5) Neturejom Dainos
6) Bydermejeris
7) Oro Balionu
8) Netildai
9) Nepabust

Jonas Ĺ arkus - vocals, synths
Vytautas Leistrumas - synths, vocals, bass guitar
Giedrius Kiela - guitar, bass guitar
Sergejus Ivanovas - drums

Roboxai, 2016
RBX (EP), 2017
Dansingas (EP), 2018
Olos, 2020

Band photo by Laura Vanseviciene

No comments:

Post a Comment